• +91 86886 66611


mbbs in uk


Direct Admission :

For a direct admission to a USA top medical school, one needs to fulfill the following criteria-

  • Students should have completed 18 years of age
  • High proficiency in English language, with a minimum 70% score in IELTS with 6.5/10 in all Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking. Other scores considered in case of application are TOEFL/PTE
  • A minimum score of 60% in PCB at 10+2
  • Competitive scores in UCAS Entrance Test – UKCAT/BMAT

Admission through preparatory course:

In case one fails to clear or score in UCAS Entrance or is not thoroughly equipped in English or Science Disciplines, one can opt for a one-year preparatory program offered by colleges under the International Foundation in Medical, Biomedical & Health Sciences

On scoring minimum 75% after the one-year program, will be selected via an interview, post which they can apply for MBBS in UK to pursue in international medical degree they desire. However, in case one is not able to score 75%, they can still proceed with 65% for a Biomedical Science degree of 3 years, which is internally recognized too.

MBBS – The MBBS in UK is a 5-6years program divided between three individual programs

  • Undergraduate
  • Foundation
  • Speciality

To set the global benchmark, UK standards of Medical Education sets its students through a number of infiltrations of assessments, grades and rankings, post which a student emerges with the highest respect and honor. Most leading medical schools in UK are funded by the UK government


An Undergraduate program generally is between 5 to 6 years, set and followed as per the dynamic parameters of the UK General Medical Council(GMC) is not allowed to fall short of its proven standards. For this it ensures that a candidate is successfully upgraded to the Foundation course with an exceptional score of 8.


Varying between different colleges, the whole undergraduate program is split into pre-clinical subjects generally covering Anatomy, Physiology, Ethics, Psychology, Biochemistry, and Clinical subjects covering Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics and Paediatrics.

With noticeable change in the teaching methods, UK schools now find an eminent position of both :

Lecture-based method, where lessons and theories are imparted via classrooms, lectures and large seminars and students are thus exposed to the huge, cumulative experience of eminent Medical Professionals, Surgeons and Consultants of different backgrounds and high repute.

Problem-based method, where a group of 8-10 students and teachers are often studying, analysing and brainstorming on all possible results, hypotheses and explanations on various cases.

Foundation : Foundation Year 1 is the first year of a two-year programme for doctors who have just graduated from medical school. Here, one begins to put into practice all theories and knowledge gained till date in the basic years of graduation. One needs to apply for the Foundation Program through the UK Foundation Program Office (UKFPO)

Foundation Year 1 - Foundation year 1 (F1) enables medical graduates to begin to take supervised responsibility for patient care and consolidate the skills that they have learned at medical school. Satisfactory completion of F1 will result in the award of the Foundation Year 1 Certificate of Completion (F1CC). Upon satisfactory F1 completion, the relevant university (or their designated representative in HEE, NES, NIMDTA, Wales Deanery or a foundation school) will recommend to the GMC that the doctor can be granted full registration

Foundation Year 2 - Foundation Year 2 (F2) doctors remain under clinical supervision but take on increasing responsibility for patient care. F2 doctors further develop their core generic skills, so that at the end of F2 they can demonstrate clinical effectiveness, leadership and the decision-making responsibilities that are essential for hospital and general practice specialty training. Satisfactory completion of F2 leads to the award of a Foundation Programme Certificate of Completion (FPCC) which indicates that the foundation doctor is ready to enter a core, specialty or general practice training program.

The UK Clinical Aptitude Test (UKCAT) is part of the selection process of some UK medical and dental schools. It is an online test designed to test cognitive abilities, attitudes, critical thinking, and logical reasoning. There are four reasoning tests and a situational judgement test.

Verbal Reasoning:

Assesses ability to think logically about written information and arrive at a reasoned conclusion: 21 minutes, with 11 passages to read and 44 questions.

Quantitative reasoning:

Assesses ability to solve numerical problems: 24 minutes, 9 tables, charts, graphs etc. as information and 36 questions.

Abstract reasoning:

Assesses ability to infer relationships from information by convergent and divergent thinking: 13 minutes and 55 questions.

Decision Analysis:

Assesses ability to deal with various forms of information to infer relationships, make informed judgements, and decide on an appropriate response: 32 minutes, 1 scenario full of information and 28 questions (basic calculator provided)

Situational Judgement:

Measures your responses in situations, and your grasp of medical ethics: 27 minutes and 67 questions on 20 scenarios.

Once doctors complete the Foundation Programme, they are able to apply to specialty training. This will determine the particular areas of medical expertise they will pursue during their careers. The length of training varies according to the specialty, ranging from three to eight years. Once that is completed, the doctor can become a consultant.

The are many kinds of specialty, with some providing opportunities for doctors to further specify their areas of interest into sub-specialties. Training and registration for each specialty is run by the relevant royal college.

One type of specialty training is general practice. This has a separate training pathway and usually a shorter period of training.

Eligibility :

Medical specialisation and training in UK require General Medical Council (GMC) medical licence. The basic requirement is to have at least first medical diploma valid in UK. The GMC Medical Licence is necessary for all doctors in the UK regardless of whether they are working in the National Health Service (NHS) or independent sector, on a full or part time, permanent or locum basis, either they are British or International Medical Graduates (IMGs). It also applies to all levels of registration, whether provisional, full or on the specialist or general practitioner (GP)

Types of Training:

There are several different types of training programmes. Two examples include:

  • Run-through training programmes - these can last between 3-7 years depending on the speciality
  • Uncoupled training programmes - this involves a period of core training followed by application to competitive higher speciality training

There are four routes to GMC registration:

  • Professional and Linguistic Assessments Board test (PLAB)
  • Sponsorship through a recognized body such as the RCP
  • Acceptable Postgraduate qualification
  • Certification of eligibility for specialist registration (CESR)